What is the F1 sprint, as the Formula One 2023 season gets underway?


he Formula One season is beginning again with a total of 23 grand prix races, beginning with Bahrain’s International Circuit in Sakhir on Sunday March 5 and lasting for nine months.

Fans of the popular Netflix F1 show Drive to Survive will already be well aware of the world’s best racers, including Red Bull’s Max Verstappen, Mercedes’s Lewis Hamilton and Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc.

Formula One will continue its popular Sprint weekends, including a total of six for this year, a rise from three in 2022. The Austrian, Azerbaijan, Belgian, Brazilian, Qatar and United States grands prix will feature their own Sprint races. The accident damage allowance for each team on a Sprint weekend will increase to a maximum of about $300,000 (£248,000) while all other Sprint damage allowances will be removed entirely.

What is the F1 sprint?

It is a race, with any tyre allowed on Saturday afternoon over 100km, which is 17 laps of Silverstone and around a third of a normal grand prix.

The top three drivers will be awarded points; three for the winner, two for second place and one for third. There is also no need to pit stop.

Qualifying will decide the sprint starting grid, with the final order of the sprint race then making up the grand prix positions.

Lewis Hamilton came sixth in the 2022 championship

/ PA

Grand prix races in 2023

Max Verstappen at the Austrian grand prix in 2021

/ Pool via Reuters

Key dates and start times of the upcoming 2023 schedule include:

  • Bahrain Grand Prix – March 5
  • Saudi Arabian Grand Prix – March 19
  • Australian Grand Prix – April 2
  • Azerbaijan Grand Prix – April 30
  • Miami Grand Prix, US – May 7
  • Emilia Romagna Grand Prix, Italy – May 21
  • Monaco Grand Prix – May 28
  • Spanish Grand Prix – June 4
  • Canadian Grand Prix – June 18
  • Austrian Gran Prix – July 2
  • British Grand Prix – July 9
  • Hungarian Grand Prix – July 23
  • Belgian Grand Prix – July 30
  • Dutch Grand Prix – August 27
  • Italian Grand Prix – September 30
  • Singapore Grand Prix– September 17
  • Japanese Grand Prix – September 24
  • Qatar Grand Prix – October 8
  • United States Grand Prix – October 22
  • Mexico City Grand Prix – October 29
  • São Paulo Grand Prix – November 5
  • Las Vegas Grand Prix – November 19
  • Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – November 26.

How to watch Formula One

Sky is the exclusive rights holder for live Formula One coverage, which can be watched on Sky Sports.

Source link